Quarry Manager Certification Scheme

The Quarry Manager Certification System (QMCS) is a system implemented by the IQA for granting professional recognition to quarry industry professionals. The CP Committee may accredit person as Certified practicing quarry Manager (CPQM) and Certified practicing quarry Supervisor (CPQS).


The QMCS is designed to:

  • set minimum standards for ongoing professional development for each grade of certification;
  • requirements for on-going professional development for the achievement and maintenance of Certified Practicing status;
  • requirements for continuing professional development in relevant topic areas of practice in the industry for the maintenance of Certified Practicing status;
  • professional ethical standards to be adhered to by certified practicing quarry managers and supervisors.

The CP Committee is responsible for the development and administration of the Quarry Management Certification System (QMCS), a national system to recognise the professional status of quarry practitioners throughout Australia.
To maintain certified status, Certified Practitioners are required to undertake a minimum of 15 hours of Professional Development and training each year (note, those Quarry Managers in NSW will align to the requirements in NSW). The QMCS includes the following:

  • requirement for ongoing professional development of 15 hours per year;
  • clearly defined professional development activities and guidelines on what is not acceptable;
  • providing a detailed annual schedule of IQA professional development activities so any Quarry Manager or Quarry Supervisor can identify and engage in appropriate activity; and
  • providing more detailed guidance on suggested learning areas and types of activities which may be claimed.

Certified Practitioner’s will be encouraged to undertake professional development activities in a range of topic areas relevant to the industry, and their individual job role. It is recommended that learning is undertaken in each of the topic areas listed below, each year:

  • Risk Management
  • Emergency Management
  • Leadership and Management
  • General Workplace Health and Safety
  • Technical Skills

Claiming Professional Development Points

There will be increased rigor on the allocation of time recognised for IQA education events and improved annual planning on what education is delivered.

Claiming 15 hours

  • member of a Branch Committee may claim a maximum of 2 hours for participation (counted as 'Leadership and Management').
  • For attendance at a Dinner Meeting, only the time that the speaker presents may be claimed.
  • An IQA Member who subscribes to Quarry Magazine may claim a maximum of 1 hour for reading (counted as 'Technical Skills').
  • For attendance at a site tour/field trip, only the time engaged in educational activity may be claimed, not the entire duration of the site visit

To obtain QMCS status

  • Person must be a member of the IQA
  • Person must have the right to undertake their stated duties as a Quarry Manager or Quarry Supervisor in their state
  • Have paid the annual QMCS subscription fee
  • Professional Development activities must be recorded in the official IQA logbook, and evidence retained to support the hours claimed
  • Submit logbook as per the IQA’s timeline
  • For Certified Practitioner's in NSW, direct advice will be provided by the IQA on classification of professional development activities and claimable hours in line with the NSW competency maintenance scheme.

To support this structure, two logbooks have been designed:

  • QMCS logbook (to capture and track progress for Professional Development hours under QMCS framework)
  • QMCS logbook (NSW) (to capture and track progress for Professional Development hours under the NSW competency maintenance scheme)
  • NSW Regulatory Requirements

NSW is currently the only state/territory with a mandatory requirement for ongoing professional development, with a competency maintenance scheme largely based on the New Zealand continuing professional development system.
Quarry Managers holding a Certificate of Competency in NSW must undertake 90 hours of professional development over 5 years (which equates to 18 hours per year). Learning does not have to be undertaken every year, but a maximum of 30 hours may be achieved in any one year. Learning must be undertaken in each of the 5 areas of competence within the 5 years:

  • Mining and WHS
  • Legislation
  • Emergency Management
  • Leadership and Management and
  • General WHS (including a mandatory 8-hour Learning from Mining Disasters course developed by the regulator).

Under the framework, learning may be formal, informal or non-formal, with detailed information provided about specific types of acceptable learning activities. Minimum and maximum hours for each competence area, learning type and activity are outlined in the framework. A logbook record must be kept for audit purposes, and may be reviewed when certificate of competence is renewed.

The IQA has developed a sophisticated logbook that can track hours aligned to each category. For more information email: education@quarry.com.au. Full details of the NSW scheme are outlined here.

IQA QMCS requirements

The IQA has developed a sophisticated logbook that can track hours aligned to each category. For more information email: education@quarry.com.au. Full details of the NSW scheme are outlined here.


Submission Dates

New applications

  • Applications for QMCS may be submitted at any time. 
  • Applications will be processed within 28 days from receipt of a complete application which meets all requirements of the Rules and Charter of the Certified Practitioners Committee. 

Click here for new QMCS applications


  • Renewals are processed each year in December.  Existing Certified Practitioners will be contacted with a request to submit their QMCS logbook and complete the renewal form via the IQA website. Fees must be paid online when submitting the renewal form.
  • Renewals are processed and new certificates issued in January, along with new logbook templates. 
  • Certification period is the calendar year.


Queensland Regulatory Requirements

All SSEs (including those temporarily appointed) at Mineral Mine or quarry employing more than 10 workers, must hold a site senior executive notice. IQA Certified Practising Quarry Manager certificate is enough evidence for the work history component of the SSE's notice.

IQA Chief Executive Officer
P.O Box 1779
Milton BC QLD 4064
E: admin@quarry.com.au

IQA's Certified Practitioner Committee
Mike Cameron
Michael Cooper
James Rowe
Chris Hamilton
Carolyn Fisher
Kylie Fahey (Secretary)

Current QMCS Recipients